Modric Beats Ronaldo, Messi, Others to Ballon d’Or


World Cup star and Real Madrid midfielder, Luka Modric has beaten off competition from the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi to be named the winner of 2018’s Ballon d’Or.

The Croatian skipper played a pivotal role for his club as they stormed to a third consecutive Champions League title, as well as leading Croatia to second place at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Indeed, Modric has become the first player to break Messi and Ronaldo’s duopoly of the award since 2007, with Brazil icon Kaka being the last to lift the trophy before the Argentine and Portuguese stars collected five each across the following years.

Here’s the top five

Luka Modric
Cristiano Ronaldo
Antoine Griezmann
Kylian Mbappe
Lionel Messi

About Jare Tiamiyu

A political and sport analyst, public speaker, writer, printer and online personnel.
View all posts by Jare Tiamiyu →