Buhari makes fresh appointments as he constitutes merit award board


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the constitution of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA) governing board. Five old members made it back to the board.

Festus Daudu, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Special Duties, made the announcement in a statement on Thursday.

The board chairman, Prof. Shekarau Aku (North West) has his tenure renewed.

Other renewals are Prof. Sheikh Abdallah (North Central), Prof. Jinadu Adele (South West), Prof. Mohammed Hassan (North East).

Fresh appointments are Prof. Sam Ohaegbulam ( South East), Prof. Williams Qurix (North West) and Festus Daudu joined the board himself represents the ministry.

The tenure, which took effect from May 1, 2020, is for a period of three years.

George Akume, Minister of Special Duties, congratulated the appointees.

“As soon as the arrangements are concluded, the date of the inaugurations of the new Governing Board will be announced in due course”, the statement added.


About Jare Tiamiyu

A political and sport analyst, public speaker, writer, printer and online personnel. A development advocate with greater interest in SDGs goal 4 and 16.
View all posts by Jare Tiamiyu →