Drama in Edo as 17 lawmakers-elect are inaugurated by Deputy Clerk after Assembly complex roof is removed


Drama continues in the Edo state ahead of Governorship election slated for September 19 as seventeen members-elect of the State House of Assembly are currently being sworn in by deputy clerk of the Edo Assembly.

The event is taken place at an undisclosed location within Benin City following the ‘destruction’ of the Assembly complex on the alleged orders of Governor Godwin Obaseki.

Out of the 17 lawmakers, 14 are members-elect who were previously bypassed when the Governor proclaimed the Assembly in a controversial manner that saw the inauguration of 10 members of the 24-member House.

Three lawmakers loyal to the Obaseki course recently dumped the governor, pledging loyalty to the APC and its governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, refusing to decamp to the PDP with Obaseki.

Earlier, heavy duty trucks from Government House were seen heaping sand, granite and other construction materials at both the entrance and exit gates of the Assembly to prevent forced entry.

The roofs of the Edo Assembly complex were also forcefully removed on the alleged orders of Governor Obaseki, under the guise that they were old and needed to be replaced over the next few months.

The Lawmakers after their inauguration announced the impeachment of the speaker, Frank Okiye and his Deputy.

About Jare Tiamiyu

A political and sport analyst, public speaker, writer, printer and online personnel. A development advocate with greater interest in SDGs goal 4 and 16.
View all posts by Jare Tiamiyu →