Former Premier League Stars nominated for the Hall of Fame


The Hall of Fame recognises and celebrates individuals who have an exceptional record of success and have shown significant contribution in the Premier League since its inception in 1992. It is the highest individual honour awarded by the League.

Legendary Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson joins Arsene Wenger in becoming the first managers inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The 16 players already acknowledged include David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Thierry Henry, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard and Alan Shearer.

Alongside those inaugural inductees in 2021, Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright were inducted last year.

Former Arsenal and England captain Tony Adams, who won the Premier League and FA Cup double with the Gunners in 1998 and 2002, has been included on this year’s shortlist, while Robbie Fowler and Michael Owen – who are mainly associated with their contributions at Liverpool – have also made the cut.

Fans around the world are now invited to place their votes for the three players who will take their place in the Hall of Fame, and can do so until 6pm on Monday 10 April, with the three new inductees announced on Wednesday 3 May.

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction, and a £10,000 donation will be made by the Premier League to a charity of the player’s choice.


Who are the 15 players shortlisted for 2023?

Tony Adams, Sol Campbell, Michael Carrick, Petr Cech, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Jermain Defoe, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Gary Neville, Michael Owen, John Terry, Yaya Toure, Nemanja Vidic