JUST IN: Police arrest 7 thugs in connection with Edo Assembly Crisis


Men of Edo State Police Command have arrested seven suspected thugs in connection with the crisis rocking the House of Assembly in Benin City on Thursday.

Our correspondent gathered on Friday that the suspected thugs had prevented the 17 elected lawmakers who attempted to make their way to the House for plenary early on Thursday.

The lawmakers later retreated to an undisclosed location in Benin City where they elected a new Speaker, Mr Victor Edoror, and impeached, Mr Frank Okiye.

The thugs identified as Festus Agbonrenren (25 years), Odion Osayande (23 years), Ogbeiwe Wilfred (52 years), Morgan Uwaigboe (47 years), Osayomore Salami (25 years), Ifeoluwa Oladele (36 years), and Iginobaro Collins (26 years) were arrested with five double-barrel long guns, two single barrel long guns, and ten live cartridges within the premises of the Assembly complex.

The state Commissioner of Police, Mr Johnson Kokumo, said he was busy when The Punch contacted him, but the Police Public Relations Officer, Mr Chidi Nwabuzor, said he had not been authorised to speak on the matter.

, ,

About Jare Tiamiyu

A political and sport analyst, public speaker, writer, printer and online personnel. A development advocate with greater interest in SDGs goal 4 and 16.
View all posts by Jare Tiamiyu →