Lagos Reinstates Commercial Motorcycle Ban, Warns Riders

The Lagos State Government has reinstated the ban on commercial motorcycles, also known as ‘okadas,’ in 10 Local Government Areas (LGAs) and 15 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) throughout the metropolis.

On Monday, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Transportation, Hon. Sola Giwa, made the announcement.

He reaffirmed the state government’s ban on okada in the affected areas while on a tour of some restricted areas within the state where large numbers of motorcyclists (okada riders) had resumed operations.

He named the local government areas (LGAs) as Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Mushin, Apapa, Ikeja, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Surulere, and Eti-Osa, and the local council areas (LCDAs) as Ojodu, Onigbongbo, Lagos Island East, Yaba, and Coker Aguda. Itire-Ikate, Eti-Osa West, Iru Victoria Island, Ikoyi-Obalende, Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga, and Odi-Olowo are among others.

The Governor’s aide urged the general public to comply after warning both riders and passengers to stay off the road.

According to him, any defaulter is liable to three years in prison if apprehended and prosecuted, with their motorcycles impounded and crushed in the public view, in line with the provision of Section 46, sub-section 1, 2 & 3 of the Transport Sector Reform Law (TSRL), 2018.

Giwa also solicited for support on government policies by all and sundry, noting that despite the available existing interventions and viable alternatives provided for okada operators which were expected to cushion the effect of the ban on their livelihood, the recalcitrant riders have refused to take advantage of them.

About Modupeola Showunmi

View all posts by Modupeola Showunmi →