OFFICIAL: INEC declares Obaseki Winner of Edo Governorship Election


The Independent National Electoral Commission has announced Governor Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the Governorship Election held on Edo state on Saturday, September 19.

The Returning officer, Prof Rim-Ruken Akpofure made the announcement in Benin City, the state capital on Sunday after the collation of results from 18 local government areas of the state.

Akpofure said Obaseki, who was the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party polled 307,955 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu who garnered 223,619 votes.

Obaseki won in 14 local government areas while Ize-Iyamu claimed victory on 4 LGs.

Obaseki defeated Ize-Iyamu for the second after they both contested in 2016 under alternated parties.

See details of the result for the governorship election below.

Igueben LGA
APC: 5,199
PDP: 7,870

Esan North East
APC: 6,556
PDP: 13,579

Esan Central
APC: 6,719
PDP: 10,794

Ikpoba-Okha LGA
APC: 18,218
PDP: 41,030

Uhunmwonde LGA
APC: 5,972
PDP: 10,022

Egor LGA
APC: 10,202
PDP: 27,621

Owan East LGA
APC: 19,295
PDP: 14,762

Owan West LGA
APC: 11,193
PDP: 11,485

Ovia North East LGA
APC: 9,907
PDP: 16,987
Esan South East
APC: 9,237
PDP: 10,563

Oredo LGA
APC: 18,365
PDP: 43,498

Esan West LGA
APC: 7,189
PDP: 17, 434

Etsako West LGA
APC: 26,140
PDP: 17,959

APC: 9237
PDP: 10565

APC: 22963
PDP: 20101

APC: 17011
PDP: 10668

APC: 8359
PDP: 7478

APC: 10458
PDP: 13445

APC: 10636
PDP: 12659

, ,

About Jare Tiamiyu

A political and sport analyst, public speaker, writer, printer and online personnel. A development advocate with greater interest in SDGs goal 4 and 16.
View all posts by Jare Tiamiyu →