Ondo 2020: Akeredolu defeats Oke, six others to emerge APC candidate


The Ondo State Governor, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu SAN, has emerged the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the October 10 governorship election in the state.

In the result declared around 12.25am by the chairman of the primary election and Governor of Kogi State, Yahaya Bello, Akeredolu won in all the local government areas of the state, defeating other seven contestants.

In the result, Akeredolu polled 2,458 votes, while Chief Olusola Oke came second, having scored 262 votes. Mr Isaac Kekemeke came third after polling 19 votes.

The primary of the APC was conducted with over 2,500 delegates from the 18 local government areas of the state who converged on the International Event Centre, Alagbaka, Akure, the state capital, to cast their votes.

Scores of armed security men from the police, the Department of State Services, the National Security and Civil Defence Corps and men of the Federal Road Safety Corps, were deployed in the venue of the exercise.

No fewer than eight aspirants finally contested for the ticket of the party after three aspirants stepped down for Governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

As of Monday morning, the party had 11 aspirants jostling for the ticket.

They were Akeredolu, Chief Olusola Oke, Mr Olaide Adelami and Mr Bukola Adetula.

Others were Mrs Jumoke Anifowose, Mr Sola Iji, Mr Isaac Kekemeke and Mr Awodeyi Akinsehinwa.

, ,

About Stanley Balogun, Akure

Sport correspondent
View all posts by Stanley Balogun, Akure →