Oyetola swears in OSIEC members, charges them on credible elections

The Governor of Osun State, Mr Gboyega Oyetola on Wednesday sworn in members of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) at the State Secretariat in Osogbo on Wednesday.

The committee is expected to oversee the conduct of the the local government elections that is to hold in Osun later this year as well as manage the affairs of the commission for the next four years.

The Governor noted that the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has empowered each State Governor appoint a state electoral board to conduct local government elections.

He therefore urged all members of the committee to always remember the oath of allegiance they have taken while carrying out there duties to the state, noting that there is so much to do within a very short period of time.

He added that his administration will give board adequate support needed but the board should ensure they organize a credible, free and fair election.

The members sworn in are Barrister Segun Oladitan (Chairman), Mrs Abosede Omibekun (East), Mr. Rufus Oyeniran (West), Alhaja Babalola Adubi (Central) Mr Oladosu Gidigbi (East), Mr. Yinka Ajiboye (West) and Alhaji Wahaab Adewoyin (Central).