June 21, 2024

There has been unrest in the Imo State House of Assembly in the recent times and it reached a noticeable point yesterday as three Principal of the House resigned.

The Principal officers resigned from their positions, citing the overall interest of the House, and the State reasons.

They are:
Hon. Lugard Osuji Majority Leader.
Hon. Barr. Kennedy Ibeh, Deputy Majority Leader.
Hon. Marcel Odunze, Chief Whip.

While the APC in the state had written to acknowledge the move by the Majority leader and his deputy, the chief whip seemed to have outsmarted the party, as his resignation took the party unawares.

Meanwhile, the trio have been replaced thus:
Hon. Barr. Uche Oguwuike, Majority Leader
Hon. Chinedu Offor, Deputy Majority Leader,
Hon. Barr. Innocent Arthur Egwim, Chief whip.

Today’s sitting was quite dramatic as more than half of the members refused to enter the hallowed chambers of the House of Assembly in a bid to frustrate the proceedings, by way of quorum, but rather they sat in the gallery, clad in jeans and shirts, an watched the sitting in utter discontent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *