May 20, 2024

The Election Petition Tribunal in Ondo State says it has received two petitions on the March 18 house of assembly election in the state.

The Secretary of the tribunal, Mr Musa Adam, told the News Agency of Nigeria in Akure on Friday that the two petitions came from the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party against the candidates of the All Progressives Congress.

Adam explained that the candidate of PDP of Idanre Constituency, Aderemi Oyewole and the PDP, filed a petition against the APC’s candidate in the constituency, Mrs Tosin Ogunlowo, and the Independent National Electoral Commission and the APC.

He added that Babatunde Fadare, a candidate of PDP in the Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo constituency, and PDP, filed a petition against the candidate of APC in the constituency, Mr Nelson Akinsuroju, INEC and APC.

The secretary said that by the provisions of the Electoral Act, any dissatisfied candidate had a period of 21 days from the date of election to file a petition to challenge the outcome.

Adam explained that once a petition had been filed, the law provided for 180 days or six months for it to be concluded and determined.

NAN reports that the tribunal had earlier received nine petitions on the national assembly elections in the state out of which two petitions had been withdrawn by the petitioners, remaining seven.


Cc: Punch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *